Klout Quest part 2: How can I improve my Klout score?

For those of you not keeping up, here’s a recap:

I signed up for Klout, only to discover my score is disappointing.

What is Klout.com? It is a measuring stick for your social influence online. Link up all your social accounts to your Klout account and a proprietary algorithm determines a numerical score between 1 and 100 to describe how influential you are online. For scale, a score of 1 is equal to someone with a rotary landline and no web access, and 100 is Justin Bieber who, according to the infographic on my last post, received about 30 messages per second on his 18th birthday.

So where do I fall? The average American has a score of 40. My score of 44 (later 46, but later still 45!?) was meh at best. Totes meh, really.

Anyway, so to reach my goal of Klout score 50 before the end of February, I began digging.

What I found is that Klout really looks for how many responses your posts get. There are 400 total points which Klout considers when determining your score, but responses are the biggest. Not how often you update, but how many people you can actually incite. Or excite. Or arouse. The more responses, retweets, repins, likes and +1’s you get per post, is what really can make your Klout score climb.

So it makes sense what a inconsequential impact my LinkedIn profile had on my Klout score. I was contributing nothing, and Klout measures influence.

As Klout put it on their website, “When you share something . . . and people respond, that’s influence.”

So the key to increasing your score is to excite the people. Sounds like a recipe for a big-time trolling operation to me! If I comment something inflammatory on a Hillary Clinton campaign video on YouTube, and a thousand angry republicans reply, then I guess I have influenced them? I’m not sure how that would work.

Responses per post

This is an important point. If you post a thousand things and get 500 responses, that is far less effective than if you post a dozen items and get 500 responses.

Who responds to your post’s Klout is also considered. So if someone with Justin Bieber’s Klout score likes and retweets your Tweet, you get big time bonus points.
According to expert Aaron Lee, finding a niche is one way to get ahead in the game. By finding a small group that is responsive to your posts, you are much more likely to get them than if you throw a Tweet at a mega-trending hashtag where your post will be scrolled off the bottom of the list in a few minutes. If you are part of a group or have a nichey hobby like painting fantasy miniatures, your posts will be inherently more valuable and bring you more responses. This explains why my miniatures-painting YouTube channel has enjoyed moderate success.

I won’t give away too much of Aaron’s post, you should read it for yourself. But it is quite helpful.

An article by James A. Martin suggests posting big personal news. This certainly worked for me. My birth story post I wrote when Milo was born is still my most popular post. That was probably mainly due to my wife linking it from her Facebook. I have to wonder what her Klout score is.

Now I need a plan

Having some idea of what determines my Klout score gives me some idea of where to start. If Klout is looking for responses, then trolling seems like the best course. Starting forum fights ought to be easy, right? But I can’t do it with my current online identity, that would undermine my work search. I need a good Klout score to impress employers, not Google myself out of a job.

So my options are to legitimately raise my Klout, or to do some clandestine trolling. Or perhaps both? I’m still undecided. I have my Facebook account set up, but haven’t started using it yet. I’m thinking of making a pseudonym brand with which to experiment on the social media scene. Perhaps something cute and fuzzy?

Another step is to take the advice of experts like Aaron and James and start posting personal news and niche questions people will feel compelled to respond to. Perhaps SEO and social media niche-dwellers will feel compelled to respond to this?

For better or worse, I’m ready for my next step toward Klout victory! Join me for Klout Quest Part III: the Quest for More Klout! (working title)

Forever yours,
The Nerdy Troll-ey Daddy

Troll-face

Leave a Reply

